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• Are you pregnant?
• Did you just give birth?
• Are you unable to care for your baby?
• Do you know someone struggling with �    
   these concerns?
The Maryland Safe Haven law allows a
mother of an infant or responsible adult*, 
to leave an unharmed** infant, within 
60 days of birth, at a designated facility 
without fear of arrest or prosecution.

Responsible adult means an individual 18 years old or older who 
may reasonably be expected to provide proper care to an infant left 
in the individual’s care and who is willing and able to immediately 
take the infant to a designated facility.

Unharmed means no evidence of physical injury or failure to give proper care and attention to an infant.

*

**
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To learn more about Maryland’s Safe Haven 
Program, contact your local Department of 
Social Services at 1-800-917-7383.  All calls can 
be made anonymously.

For more information you may visit the Maryland 
Department of Human Services’ website.
(dhs.maryland.gov/safe-haven/)

In Maryland, designated facilities include hospitals, 
licensed medical providers, police departments, 
state police barracks, and insured fire companies 
(whether volunteer or professional).

	 Call 2-1-1 to ask for the nearest �		
	 Safe Haven location.

For Health Coverage in Maryland 
�Contact Maryland Health Connection at 
(855) 642-8572 or TTY (855) 642-8573


