www.mdnewhire.com Visit our Web site at:

Regulation, in partnership with Policy Studies Inc. (PSI) Resources and the Department of Labor, Licensing, and Published by the Maryland Department of Human

Maryland State Directory of New Hire

Important New Hire Information



being.

programs, partnerships, and technology, parental responsibility through innovative Program enables, encourages, and enforces Maryland's Child Support Enforcement Mission, Vision, and Guiding Principles

Child Support Administration's **Department of Human Resources**

State of Maryland

thereby contributing to child and family well

Our Vision for the Future



Guiding Principles

The best interest of the child is our

highest priority.

We provide equitable and thorough

services to all children and families.

among child support professionals.

families and are, as a result, national leaders We positively change the lives of children and

< We continuously improve. We value the teamwork of our staff.

<

services.

We work to reduce the need for our

<

We build strong and committed

partnerships.

enforcing obligations.

We ensure that children receive financial

support by aggressively pursuing and

<

We recognize and work to address the

needs of fragile families.



Office of Child Support Enforcement Administration Department of Human Resources

CSEA/SDNH/14-001-S ATTACHMENT Q3

ATTACHMENT C

What is New Hire Reporting?

Under Maryland Statute and Federal Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996 (PRWORA), all Maryland employers are required to report all newly hired employees to the New Hire Reporting Registry within 20 days of the hire date. Failure to report a new employee could result in a fine.

The Maryland State Directory of New Hire provides employers with several efficient and convenient ways to report newly hired employees. Our customer service staff is available from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (EST) Monday through Friday to answer your questions or provide technical assistance.

Why is New Hire Reporting important?

Employers play a pivotal role in helping Maryland's children receive the support they need. Those who don't receive financial support often depend on public assistance or live in poverty. In addition, the new hire information is also used to detect and prevent unemployment insurance overpayments. By meeting the requirements of the new hire reporting law, you will help children get the support they need.

How often should I report?

Employers must report new hire information within 20 calendar days of employee's first work day or date of rehire.

- If reporting manually, you must report within 20 days of the employee's hire.
- If reporting electronically, you must report at least two times per month (if you have new employees to report), 12 to 16 days apart.

Contact Information

Easiest and Fastest Way to Report Maryland State Directory of New Hire's easy-touse Web site allows you to establish a secure account and password exclusively for your company. Simply logon as an employer, enter the employee data, and receive confirmation that your data has been accepted.

Web Site

www.mdnewhire.com

Mailing Address:

If you are mailing new hire reports, please use the following address:

Maryland State Directory of New Hire PO Box 1316 Baltimore, MD 21203-1316

Telephone Number:

To speak with a customer service representative or to receive technical assistance, contact us at: 410-281-6000 (local) or

1-888-634-4737 (toll free) 1-888-MDHIRES

Fax Number:

You can fax new hire information to our toll-free fax number:

- 410-281-6004 (local) or
- 1-888-657-3534 (toll free)

Office hours are 8:00 a.m. through 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday



How do I report new hires?

1. Gather Information

You will need to gather:

- Employer Federal Identification Number (FEIN)
- Employer State of Maryland Unemployment Insurance Number (SUIN)
- Employer Name and Address
- Employee Social Security Number (SSN)
- Employee Name and Address
- Employee Hire Date
- Employee Availability of Medical Benefits
- Employee Salary and Pay Frequency
- Employee Date of Birth*
- ✓ Employee Gender*

*Optional under the new hire law, but recommended

2. Create the Report

To create a report, you can use:

- ✓ Internet reporting at www.mdnewhire.com
- Microsoft Excel (new version) in electronic format (if interested contact our center first)
- / Electronic reports via cartridge or diskette
- Electronic File Transfer
- W-4 Form (including company name, address, and FEIN)
- A computer print-out or other list of employees
- New Hire Reporting Form
- Report via talanhona
- Report via telephone

3. Submit the Report

Reporting new hires is now easier than ever. Employers may report online over the Internet, by electronic file, by fax, mail, or phone. When faxing reports, do not send a cover sheet. Your payroll service can also report your new hires.

*New Hires reported without the required information will be returned to the employer.