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Policy Subject: Screening Reports of Child and Vulnerable Adult Abuse/Neglect and Requests for 
Services 

Effective Date: This policy will become effective upon implementation of the Statewide hotline platform 
within each jurisdiction. Until such time, jurisdictions will comply with the current 
policies, SSA#13-11 and SSA-CW#15-29.    

Approved By: 
 

Michelle L. Farr   
Executive Director 
Social Services Administration 

Policy Number: SSA-CW 21-10 

Revision Date(s): 

  

  

Originating 
Office: 

Child Protective Services/Family Preservation Services and Office of Adult Services 

Supersedes: 

  

 
SSA # 13-11  (See note under “Effective Date) 
SSA-CW # 15-29  (See note under “Effective Date)  

Program 
Affected: 

Child Protective Services, Adult Protective Services, Family Preservation Services, 
Permanency Services, and Placement Services 
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Legal Information & Purpose 
 
The purpose of this policy is to seek uniformity across Maryland and to ensure that the Local 
Departments of Social Services (LDSS) have consistent procedures to respond to reports of child 
or vulnerable adult abuse, neglect, or financial exploitation, including related emergencies by 
Child Protective Services (CPS), Adult Protective Services (APS), Family Preservation Services, 
and out-of-home placement (OHP) staff. 
 
As a condition for receiving federal funding under the Child Abuse Prevention and Treatment 
Act (CAPTA), Maryland established “procedures for the immediate screening, risk and safety 
assessment, and prompt investigation” of reports regarding child maltreatment and certain risk of 
harm cases. 42 U.S.C. § 5106a(b)(2)(B)(iv). By regulation, suspected child abuse or neglect must 
be reported “immediately.” COMAR 07.02.07.04. Trained staff must be available to respond to 
these reports 7 days a week, 24 hours a day, including after regular working hours. COMAR 
07.02.07.05C(1), (2). 
 
Similarly, trained staff must be available to respond to reports of vulnerable adult abuse or 
neglect that mandated reporters must make “as soon as possible” after discovery of the abuse or 
neglect. Fam. Law. § 14-302(a)-(b). The law recognizes that APS calls may warrant an 
emergency response. Fam. Law §14-304. 
 
The law requires that LDSS initiate investigations into reports of suspected child abuse within 24 
hours and into reports of suspected child neglect within 5 calendar days. Fam. Law § 5-706(c). 
An LDSS must initiate investigations into reports of suspected abuse, neglect, self-neglect, or 
exploitation of an alleged vulnerable adult within 5 working days, or within 24 hours if the report 
indicates that an emergency exists. Fam. Law § 14-303(a).The LDSS must respond to reports of 
substance exposed newborns within 48 hours. Fam. Law § 5-704.2(g). 
 
In addition, LDSS staff must be available to respond to emergencies involving children in OHP. 
Fam. Law § 5-525(d); COMAR 07.02.11.09 (providing for emergency removal). 
 
In this policy, “trained staff or trained screener” is defined as those staff who have the technical 
skills and knowledge to receive reports/information about the above program areas and are able 
to make a recommendation to the supervisor for appropriate resolution. Trained staff, generally 
classified as Family Services Caseworker, Family Services Case Work Specialist, Social Worker, 
or their supervisors, are required to participate in ongoing child welfare and/or adult services 
training. 
 
Policy 
 
LDSS must apply all screening guidelines to reports of child abuse or neglect or other 
emergencies regardless of whether the report is made during business hours or when the LDSS is 
closed.  
 
Child welfare statutes and policies requiring a response within a given timeframe apply 
regardless of what day or time of day a call is received: 
 



SSA-CW 21-10 
Page 3 

 
• 24 hours – report of physical or sexual abuse, Request of Another Agency (ROA) if 

related to abuse, child neglect or Risk of Harm (ROH) if an emergency exists 
• 5 calendar days – report of neglect, ROH, ROA if related to neglect 
• 48 hours – report of Substance Exposed Newborns. 

 
Adult Services statutes and policies requiring a response within a given timeframe apply 
regardless of what day or time of day a call is received: 

• 24 hours – report of vulnerable adult abuse, neglect, self-neglect, or exploitation if an 
emergency exists   

• 5 working days – report of vulnerable adult abuse, neglect, self-neglect, or exploitation. 
 
Because these calls may involve a child or vulnerable adult in immediate danger or crisis, 
screening calls appropriately is of the utmost importance.  

It is not uncommon for the LDSS to receive reports of child or adult maltreatment by means 
other than a telephone call. For reports received using other methods, such as email, text, fax, 
etc., the LDSS is responsible for responding to these reports as they would a telephone call. 

Although each LDSS has its unique way of staffing the screening function during normal 
working hours, after-hours, and on weekends, each agency must meet certain minimum 
standards.  

Procedural Guidance 

Screening Calls During Normal Working Hours 

Every LDSS must ensure that the following standards are met: 

1.     Callers are directed to utilize the Department of Human Services CPS/APS Hotline to make 
maltreatment reports or request child or adult welfare services. 

2.     LDSS are required to ensure “that a report of suspected child abuse or neglect is immediately 
directed to CPS for an appropriate response.” COMAR 07.02.07.05B. 

3.     If all screeners are busy, the caller will be placed in the queue. The queue may be monitored 
by a screening supervisor who can be aware of how long callers are waiting. No calls should be 
directed to voicemail. 

4.    To the greatest extent possible, a call should be routed directly to a trained screener. Taking 
messages, transferring calls, and requesting a call back number all substantially decrease the 
likelihood that a reporter will persist in reporting suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation. These 
activities also increase the likelihood that at-risk individuals will fail to receive the timely 
assistance or treatment they need and will continue to be abused or neglected. 

5.     As required by the current CPS Screening policy, “the screener must forward the case for 
approval to the screening supervisor immediately upon completing the referral.” 
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Screening Calls After-Hours or at Other Times When the Agency Is Closed 

1.     Every LDSS must ensure that the following standards are met for calls received during non-
business hours: 

2.     LDSS must have a caseworker available to receive maltreatment reports or requests for 
services and a supervisor available for review and supervisory input. 

3.     Best practice is to have a live person answer a call to the number used to report child or 
vulnerable adult abuse or neglect or exploitation or other emergency. In many jurisdictions the 
call is forwarded to an answering service or local law enforcement. 

4.     LDSS are required to ensure “that a report of suspected child abuse or neglect is immediately 
directed to CPS for an appropriate response.” COMAR 07.02.07.05B. This regulation applies to 
after-hours as well as business hours.  

5.     If an answering service answers the call, they should be directed to immediately forward the 
information to the after-hours staff. After-hours staff should respond to the caller within 30 
minutes of receiving the call from the answering service. 

6.  If law enforcement answers the call, the LDSS should create standard operating procedures 
with law enforcement to address the process for contacting LDSS staff after-hours.  

7.     After-hours staff shall obtain the verbal approval of the on-call supervisor for all reports 
recommended for screen in/out within 16 hours of receiving the report. If the after-hours staff 
knows the information to be a valid report of abuse, neglect, or exploitation, staff must respond 
to the report as required by the identifiable safety and risk concerns and relevant statutes, 
regulations, and policies. If after-hours staff are unsure of the response time or validity of the 
report, they must promptly seek guidance from the on-call supervisor. All verbal approvals and 
decisions made about the report after hours must be documented in the Child Juvenile Adult 
Management System (CJAMS) by either after-hours or daytime staff. 

Alignment with Practice Model and Desired Outcomes: 

This policy supports the goals of the Integrated Practice Model to engage in the collaborative 
assessment process that is trauma-informed, culturally and linguistically responsive, and 
inclusive of formal and informal community partners. 

Documentation 

The details of all child abuse and neglect reports shall be recorded in the Intake section within 
CJAMS regardless of whether the report is screened in or screened out. The details of all 
vulnerable adult abuse and neglect reports should be recorded on an approved referral form until 
such time CJAMS is available to APS. This includes whether a call was received by staff during 
the course of the business day or during after-hours. 


