What is the first step in the process to become a resource parent​ with the Department of Social Services?

Thank you for your interest to be a resource parent for children in foster care. The first step in the process is to reach out to your local department of social service. Based on your residence, you can call or email the contact person listed below at the local department of social services in your county. The recruiter will be able to share information with you and answer any of your questions. They will gather some information from you and invite you to an information meeting. You can find additional information on becoming a resource parent, the requirements and training at Becoming a Resource (Foster) Parent and on the local department’s social media pages.

You may also find Families Considering Foster Care and Adoption Fact Sheet from the Child Welfare Information Gateway helpful as well. We look forward to hearing from you and hope to partner with you soon.

Best Wishes,

Jenny Jumbelick

Department of Social Services Contact

Phone #

Email Address
Allegany County Paulette Hose

(301) 784-7158

paulette.hose@maryland.gov
Anne Arundel County Erika Ford

(410) 897-3950

annearundel.fostercare@maryland.gov
Baltimore City Recruitment #

(410) 685-8231

bcdss.fostering@maryland.gov
Baltimore County Dawn Pipesh

(410) 853-3170

Dawn.Pipesh@maryland.gov
Calvert County Carla Gurganus

(443) 550-6945

carla.gurganus@maryland.gov
Carroline County Robin Bigelo

(410) 819-4533

robin.bigelow@maryland.gov
Carroll County Susan Beard

(410) 386-3433

Susan.beard@maryland.gov
Cecil County Charlene Hearne

(410) 966-0191

charlene.morris@maryland.gov
Charles County LaDonn Barros

(301) 392-6727

ladonn.barros1@maryland.gov
Dorchester County Jessica Cruz

(410) 901-4287

jessica.reading@maryland.gov
Frederick County Recruitment #

(301) 600-2466

foster.careinfo@maryland.gov
Garrrett County Misty SanJulian

(301) 533-3071

misty.sanjulian@maryland.gov
Harford County Recruitment #

(410) 836-4705

foster.ourfuture@maryland.gov
Howard County Dawn Moser

(410) 872-8839

dawn.moser@maryland.gov
Kent County Dawn Young

(410) 810-7659

dawn.young@maryland.gov
Montgomey County Recruitment #

(240) 777-1664

fprecruiter@montgomerycountymd.gov
Prince George’s County Recruitment #

(301) 909-2300

lisa.robertson@maryland.gov
Queen Anne’s County Carol O’Donnel

(410) 758-8017

carol.odonnel@maryland.gov
St. Mary’s County Natara Strother

(240) 895-7051

natara.strother@maryland.gov
Somerset County Melissa Moore

(410) 677-4370

melissa.moore@maryland.gov
Talbot County Christine Abbatiello

(410) 820-7185

christine.abbatiello@maryland.gov
Washington County Tina Wolfensberger

(240) 420-2197

tina.wolfensberger@maryland.gov
Wicomico County Kelly Myrer

(410) 713-3971

kelly.myrer@maryland.gov
Worcester County Trina Townsend

(410) 677-6849

trina.townsend1@maryland.gov