Skip to Main Content

About the Commission

2023 – 2024 Maryland Commission for Women

Pictured from Left to Right: Lauren Lambert, Sarah A. Klein, Patricia M. Lambert, Lenita Walker, Chair Tawanda A. Bailey, Jonathon Carrington, 2nd Vice Chair Beth Anne Dorman, Christine Lee, Linda Han, Pier Blake, Essita Duncan, Judi Emmel
Not pictured are: Andrea Bottner, Deborah Cartee, Gloria Dent, Kathryn M. Fiddler, Maggi Gaines, Eugenia Henry, Brenda McChriston, Jenny Pena-Dias, First Vice Chair Maxine Griffin Somerville, Evelyne Steward, Monica Watkins and Tamara E. Wilson


The Commission

The Maryland Commission for Women is a 25-member advisory board first established in 1965 and set in state law in 1971.

The Commission’s purpose is to identify areas in our systems of laws, policies, practices, programs and procedures that impact women or girls disparately, and then to advocate strategies for addressing those concerns and making our community more equitable and inclusive.

Commissioners are appointed by the Governor, with confirmation by the Maryland State Senate, and serve four-year terms without compensation. The Commission’s enabling legislation charges it with the responsibility to “inform the executive and legislative branches of government on issues concerning women, including offering testimony on these issues before legislative and administrative bodies.” (Maryland Code, Article – Human Services, Section 2-406)

In addition to its legislative advocacy, the Commission sponsors the Maryland Women’s Hall of Fame and the Maryland Young Women Leaders Awards programs. From 2016 to 2022, the Commission conducted a series of three research projects studying the status of women in Maryland, including the impact of the pandemic on women in this state, and offering recommendations for reducing that impact.

Please explore our website to learn more about these and other Commission for Women initiatives

Legislative Mandate

Maryland Code Article Human Services §2-401 – §408

    • Study the status of women in our state
    • Direct attention to critical problems confronting women
    • Recommend methods of overcoming discrimination
    • Recognize women’s accomplishments and contributions
    • Provide informed advice to the executive and legislative branches of government on the issues concerning the women of our state