Refugee Transitional Cash Assistance

Program Description

Refugee Transitional Cash Assistance (RTCA or RCA) is a state-administered and federally-funded temporary financial assistance program. RTCA benefits provide support to eligible clients until they can secure employment and become economically independent. Eligibility for RTCA is determined by both state and federal guidelines. Per 45 CFR § 400.53, eligible applicants:

  • Have held an eligible and documented immigration status in the U.S. less than the established RTCA eligibility period (currently 12 months after arrival or after an asylum grant).
  • Are ineligible for other cash assistance programs including TANF (Maryland TCA program for families with dependent children), SSI, OAA, AB, APTD, and AABD.
  • Are not full-time students in institutions of higher education
  • Meet income eligibility guidelines
  • Clients must complete all required paperwork to be enrolled in RCA or RTCA, including providing proof of an eligible immigration status.

Where can you apply for RTCA?

MORA administers RTCA in partnership with local Resettlement Agencies in Maryland. Please contact one of the following agencies to see if you are eligible to apply.

Baltimore Metropolitan Area

International Rescue Committee (IRC) Baltimore
Baltimore Resettlement Center
1900 N Howard St #200, Baltimore, MD 21218

Lutheran Social Services of the National Capital Area (LSSNCA)
1730 Twin Springs Road
Suite 213-214
Baltimore, MD 21227

Suburban Washington Area

Ethiopian Community Development Council (ECDC) African Community Center DC Metro
The World Building
8121 Georgia Avenue, Suite 720
Silver Spring, MD 20910

International Rescue Committee (IRC)
8737 Colesville Road, Suite 1200
Silver Spring, MD 20910

Lutheran Social Services of the National Capital Area (LSSNCA)
7474 Greenway Center Dr, Suite 1200
Greenbelt, MD 20770

Frederick Area

Lutheran Social Services of the National Capital Area (LSSNCA)
92 Thomas Johnson Drive
Suite 260
Frederick, MD 21702

Clients who reside outside of the above jurisdictions can apply for Refugee Cash Assistance benefits at their local Department of Social Services office, listed here: